A vegetarian is: “Someone who lives on a diet of grains, legumes, nuts, seeds, vegetables and fruits with or without the use of dairy products and eggs. A vegetarian does not eat any meat, poultry, fish, shellfish * or by-products of slaughter.”
It is amazing how every time people read less, not only by mere culture but because of physical laziness. The problem is that when we don’t have the habit, we tend to do it wrong and incomplete, and the only ones affected by it is ourselves.
If there is something that amazes me every day is like the industry chooses segments either from scientific articles or other unreliable sources and distort the information for their own benefit. Misreading articles or assumings facts made from unreliable sources, is the reason why we are now taking omegas in capsules for a better health, or supplementing with glucosamine as if our joints will stop working properly if we do not, or the increasing demand of high-protein diets, as if we were to die as a result of a low protein in our diets.
So today we want to talk about what it means to be truly vegetarian. Every day we hear that someone in our family or a friend turned vegetarian, who now only “lives for yoga” and apparently you “lost him/her”. But what is that, which people are calling being a vegetarian?
Believe it or not, today you hear people say “vegetarian” who those who don’t eat red meat, but eat poultry, fish and any kind of seafood (because many consider everything that comes from the river or the ocean non-animals for some reason.)
The International Vegetarian Union defines vegetarianism as “A diet of foods derived from plants, with or without dairy products, eggs and/or honey”. Listen carefully, or should I say read carefully, with or without milk, eggs and/or honey, it does not include poultry, fish or seafood. On the other hand the Vegetarian Society (the oldest organization in the subject) defines vegetarianism as: “Someone who lives on a diet of grains, legumes, nuts, seeds, vegetables and fruits with or without the use of dairy products and eggs. A vegetarian does not eat any meat, poultry, fish, shellfish * or by-products of slaughter.”
So why when someone says “no thanks, I do not eat red meat” people respond with the following question: “Since when are you a vegetarian?” I think the answer is that we are not reading properly, we let the media talk, think and propose for us. If we read well and be critical about the information that is put before our eyes, we would all have clear that a vegetarian is someone who does not eat chicken or red meat, or fish, or shellfish, even as apathetic as your relationship with them is, they are still animals.
Today there are three types of vegetarians which are the following:
Lacto-Vegetarians: consume milk and its derivatives such as cream, cheese, butter etc.
Ovo-Lacto Vegetarians: consume the same as lacto-vegetarians plus eggs.
Vegans: it is the ultimate segmentation where there is absolutely no eating of anything that comes from an animal or its derivatives, no consumption of cheese, dairy, eggs nor honey.
So, the next time you see one of your friends or family say no to red meat, he or she is NOT necessarily vegetarian, there are more things that go with it, but if something is true is that this little person is doing a very wise decision for their health and for the environment so he/she deserves a compliment
And if you’re interested on trying a vegetarian diet you can start by selecting one day a week in which you don’t consume anything of animal origin, you will definitely feel the impact on your body, and if you need advice to do so Live Life gives you expert advice on the subject.
Copyright © Live Life Nutrition for The Soul, 2013. All rights reserved. No part of the development, content, or feedback can be reproduced without the written approval of Live Life Nutrition for the Soul